A Cottonwood Stand: A Novel of Nebraska

We rated this book:


A Cottonwood Stand: A Novel of Nebraska is comprised of two interconnecting stories between two young women. The book starts out with the story set in present-day 2010 in Cottonwood, Nebraska. The main character, Janet, along with Tanya, a minor character who has a connection to the past, must work to save the old Cottonwood tree from being torn down and risk losing its historical value. The other storyline also takes place in Nebraska and is about a young Sioux woman by the name of Lark, who is trying to save her adopted sister, Running Water, from an arranged marriage. Lark must also deal with the social issues of living among another tribe, with the same Cottonwood tree playing a significant role.

Character development needs to be worked on, and segues between the characters could be improved to help with clarification throughout the story. If you don’t read the book in few sittings, all the characters can get confusing since there are several of them. From what I did understand of the story, I liked how the characters in both storylines were working for upright causes, regardless of the results.

Reviewed By:

Author Chuck Redman
Star Count 3.5/5
Format Trade
Page Count 146 pages
Publisher Sunstone Press
Publish Date 2018-06-15
ISBN 9781632932204
Amazon Buy this Book
Issue April 2019
Category Popular Fiction


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “A Cottonwood Stand: A Novel of Nebraska”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *