Arcanum Unbounded: The Cosmere Collection

We rated this book:


Arcanum Unbound: The Cosmere Collection is the first short story collection from fantasy author Brandon Sanderson. Within this massive tome are eight short stories, novellas, and novelettes from the majority of Sanderson’s Cosmere planets. The stories are broken down by planet system and prefaced by a note from Khriss, the author of the appendixes found in Sanderson’s other works. The shining star of this collection is a previously unpublished story set in the world of Stormlight Archive entitled “Edgedancer.”

While this collection is obviously aimed at Sanderson fans, it is amazingly accessible to new readers and serves as a great introduction to his Cosmere—which is an underlying connection through most of his novels. For instance, “The Emperor’s Soul” takes place in the world of Elantris but functions beautifully as a standalone novel that captures Sanderson’s writing style, narrative voice, and stunning character development in around one hundred pages. New readers and fans alike will enjoy this collection and will enjoy the tidbits of information Sanderson nestled in each introduction.

Reviewed By:

Author Brandon Sanderson
Star Count /5
Format Hard
Page Count 672 pages
Publisher Tor Books
Publish Date 2016-Nov-22
ISBN 9780765391162 Buy this Book
Issue January 2017
Category Science Fiction & Fantasy


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Arcanum Unbounded: The Cosmere Collection”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *